Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

A group that is well motivated, disciplined and in order Is one that follows the footsteps and the words of their leader. This type of dynamic is only possible when the person in charge is respected by his team.

As a leader it is his job to keep the team motivated and ready for all situation that they might face in the upcoming future. This kind of motivation drives the team members to believe in themselves and improve self-confidence not only in themselves but also their confidence in their leader. This is similar to how a military general keeps his force motivated in the most adverse situations it is because of the confidence and respect that is present for his leadership they are able to make it though the worst part of battles. This type of relation is only possible when one has respect for the other person talking to you.

If one considers the area of politics, is it verry clearly visible that if there are two candidates one is not respected as the other, it is already known that the less respectable candidate is not voted for or maybe people don’t want to listen to what he has to say. This is where respect is crucial for a lead, it helps keeps his followers listening to him. A clear example in my country is the Current PM Modi and the leader of the opposition party Rahul Ghandhi. It is widely known and evident by the jokes and memes that are made on Rahul Ghandhi that he is not respected and no one wants to listen to him.

There is another side to this story. It is true that sometimes respect is achieved though fear, however it is clearly not a verry sustainable method. History has time and again proved this point. There have been dictators who have gained control by using fear to rule however they eventually lose their power as it is not a sustainable way of ruling. No one wants to be ruled by someone who they don’t look up to or respect.

It is evident that for effective leadership it is important that he/she respected by the people he is leading, By having people are willing to listen to him and follow with their whole heart.