A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

A school's education builds the initial foundations of a child and fuels his future aspirations and goals. The ability to percieve and explore the world, starts to develop at a rudimentary stage and is shaped by the education that the student is imparted through his growing years. A standardised and uniform education curriculum for all students does provides for an equal access to every diverse subject but an unequivocal approach of inculcating education in scholars supplants the ambiguity of graduates. A same national curriculum for all but to a limited extend uptill the beginning of high school is what I believe is a more positive development.

The human brain at tender stages best adapts to ways of learning that are diversified and involves knowledge about everything that the child encounters. Favouring this, a uniformity in the curriculum makes sure that the student gets well exposed to all the basic foundational knowledge that helps his mind to nurture intellectual abilities and be more intelligent in varied areas of life. For instance, a 5th grade class that involves students being taught about all cores would be over an edge in decision making and analysis compared to a class that focuses on personalised topics of interests at a younger age. A same curriculum for all thereby, also helps in the provision of delivery of an unbiased education to all the sectors of the society, irrespective of the resourses possessed by them.

However, considering this invariability in the curriculum results in a demerit as soon as the learner begins his high school education. Concentration in one subject from a vast array of fields helps the student to be more focused and put in all his best efforts in learning what is really enjoyed. Being indulged in varied fields at a high school level is incongrous to the learner's growth as a professional and thus suppresses the approach that every mind has its own unique abilities and interests. Consider teaching History to a high school student who has already developed fascination for science, he would hardly be involved in history because of a want of interest. This further justifies the diversions needed at a higher level of education.

On the other hand, there comes out to be instances wherein the students do not seem to be particularly interested in one certain field but instead, their interest involves a variety of niches from diverse background. This in itself entails the need to have a multi-disciplinary approach of the curriculum that helps the students choose from different niches and study whatever interests them so as to shape them in a way that they become experts in whatever field they want to dive in.

Therefore, this need to have a uniform national curriculum is quite beneficial, keeping in mind, the dire need to have a specified one in high school according to the personalised interest of the students, thus building the foundations of great minds and expertised professionals.