Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative development?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Mobile phones have always been a very crucial part of academic learning in schools. While the mobile phones provide the students with ample of resources to keep up with the school work, some schools have restricted their use on campus to avoid the deleterious effect that using phones on campus offers. In my view, this is a positive development leading to more focused attention and physical as well as mental well being while learning in schools.

Restricting phone use in the classroom itself can improve learning. It helps the students focus on the task at hand as they are not easily distracted and this increases the attention time span as well as their concentration. For instance, when in a classroom, a student having a mobile phones will tend to feel an urge to check out his/her phone as soon as it buzzes or would get off his mind from the lesson being taught by scrolling through social media as it activates his dopamine reward system more than learning in the class. This leads to a disturbed environment in the classroom which is not productive and focused towards learning with the students practicing distraction with their mobile phones, thus affecting their attention spans and resulting in harmful effects in future academic learning. Restricting the use of mobile phones in classroom therefore becomes a very significant development in order to enhance learning outcomes in schools.

Restricted phone use results in more social interaction and development of social skills that play a major part in development as a student. It makes the student, be more involved with his/her surroundings rather than being isolated and scrolling through the phones. It helps in the development of social skills where the student can learn interacting and communicating in person instead of using messaging as a way of communication. For example, during breaks between the lessons, if students have their phones in hand, they tend to forget the surrounding and would not indulge in any social interaction and physical activity. This hinders the overall development of the student apart from academics. The students becomes less driven towards social interactions and this develops in them a feeling of being isolated from the environment that they are physically present in, leading to mental health issues later in life. All of this further proves the restricted mobile phone use in classroom as a positive development.

Mobile phones have both demerits and merits in learning phase of a student, but keeping in mind the harmful effects that it poses, restricting the use is a major and positive development as this leads to enhanced learning, developed social abilities, effective communication skills in person and a focused and concentrated mind, thus helping in good academics and a healthy mind.