Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

From all the technological to the scientific advancements around the world, everything is contingent upon education. It forms the building block of all the inventions in the world and has been the most essential tool for mankind since ages. Encouraging students to choose a field of study that largely focus on lucrative aspects of careers, undoubtedly suppresses the very essence of education. I strongly advocate that institutions should not motivate their students to choose study fields that lay emphasis on a lucrative career ahead as this instills in students a sense of studying merely for the sake of money and not for education which may further lead to inscrupulous individuals.

Firstly, education is meritorious only when it teaches our subject of choice along with lessons for life. If education helps burgeon in us, a money oriented spirit, then it would fail us in achieving an overall development as individuals and results in our choices that are largely governed by monetory aspects. For instance, a well educated person is prolific and venerated by the society whereas on the other hand, a student who has been nurtured to focus on the monetary aspects of events like their own careers, they seem to lack a driven interest towards the betterment of the society.

Also, making the students aim for lucrative careers harms them in the long run, it never lets the learner to deep dive into the oceans of knowledge, thus failing to implant into the person a sense of mindfulness at some point in life and they never try to be meticulous in the task at hand. A lucrative career may seem a trap in near future, but always turns out harmful in the longer run. For example, when a student studies with a desire to pursue a higher education in a field of study, he puts himself completely into his field, whereas on the other hand, someone who is driven by monetary benefits, skips the essential aspects of knowledge that is needed in the longer run.

However, one may argue that in today's world, money is all that is needed to live one's best life, one should always keep in mind the how lucrative the career is before choosing a field of study. This doesn't hold true until someone really values the need for an education and how it helps in our brain's intellectual development. A wise man is always the one who is eager to learn as much as possible and not solely rely on the money that his career would yield.

In my view, educational institutions should encourage students to grow as intelligent and mindful individuals rather than individuals aiming for monetary benefits of a career as this tends to hinder the growth of the scholar as a whole and makes him stands far behind than people who are intelligent and driven by a desire of education merely for being intelligent individuals.