A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Curriculum plays a vital role in the development of students. School students learn mostly only from the courses assigned to them and thus it becomes extremely important that the structure of curriculum is precise and effective. I mosty disgree that a national curriculum should be made compulsory for students due to the following 3 reasons.

Firstly, even though a fixed national curriculum will help to evaluate students uniformly, it will be extremely difficult to make sure that the quality of material delivered to the students is of same level. For example, the urban schools would be able to effectively teach the new curriculum, but rural schools won't be able to teach the subjects effectively. Though evalution will become homogenous, if all the students across the nation are not able to learn the courses in the same manner than it will nullify the benefits of uniformity of national curriculum.

Secondly, the inflexibility in the curriculum will not allow students to pursue some courses they like. Students learn mostly from the courses that are taught to them at school and a rigid curriculum will not allow the influx of knowledge. For example, it would be damaging if the national curriculum has course on biology but does not include important concepts of physics that would be benefial to students who take up science in the future. This example sheds light on the restrictions that come along with a fixed national curriculum.

Thirdly, I will be extremey difficult to develop a curriculum that takes into account region-specific courses. For example, in India there are more than 50+ languages spoken and state governments encourage school students to learn region languages. If a fixed national curriculum is to be adopted, it will not be possible to include so many different languages. Thus, in such cases a fexible curriculum which is comprised of some fixed courses and some electives which either the school or the student can select, will be the best choice.

To conclude, rather than having a same national curriculum for students until they enter college, a dynamic structure of courses should be adopted which includes some fundamental courses and some region or interest-specific courses.