The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting the supply of new housing, could lead to significant increases in the price of housing in the county. Proponents of the measure note that Chestnut County established a similar measure ten years ago, and its housing prices have increased only modestly since. However, opponents of the measure note that Pine County adopted restrictions on the development of new residential housing fifteen years ago, and its housing prices have since more than doubled. The council currently predicts that the proposed measure, if passed, will result in a significant increase in housing prices in Maple County.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The council of Maple County concludes that the housing prices in the county will increase if they prevent the development of farmland. This conclusion is based on the fact that the housing prices in Pine County ballooned when they limited the development of farmland. However, before conclusion can b properly evaluated, three questions must be answered.

Firstly, is Pine County comparable to Maple County? It might be possible that both the counties differ significantly from one another, and the prediction can’t be made from Pine County. It might be possible that Pine County has become very popular and thus there is an increase in the housing prices. Pine County might have become a center of lot of companies and due to employees shifting there has increased its price. The trend seen in Pine County cannot be generalized for Maple County if they are not comparable. Thus, it is important to analyze all the factors responsible for the increase in price of housing at Pine County. If this is the case than the conclusion made by the council does not hold water.

Secondly, do we know how much was the price of housing in Pine County? It might be possible that the housing prices in Pine County were quite low in the beginning and have recently increased relatively. The housing price in Maple County may already be more than Pine County and might not increase any more. It might be possible that Pine County was underdeveloped in the past and recently its price has increased. There can be many factors that might have affected the housing prices in Pine County. The council should consider all the different factors involved and track the housing prices of the County.

Thus, it is important to know the housing price in Pine County before the restrictions and after it.

Lastly, is Chestnut County comparable to Maple County? Perhaps, housing in Chestnut County is comparable to Maple County. If so, then Maple County’s housing price would remain the same since the housing price in Chestnut County remained same even after the restriction. The council should analyze Chestnut County and answer this important question without which the conclusion remains weak.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to its reliance on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author is able to answer the three questions above and offer more evidence (perhaps in the form of a systematic research study), then it will be possible to fully evaluate the proposed conclusion of the increase in housing prices in Maple County.