manager to television station.

In this argument, it is concluded that there will be an increase in viewership if the time devoted to weather and local news be again increased back to their former level. The conclusion is supported with the evidence that there is an increase in complaints from viewers regarding the coverage of weather and local news and there is a decrease in local advertisement on the late-night news program. Though this conclusion might be correct, there are some important evidences that should be evaluated without which the conclusion does not hold water. Following are the 3 evidences necessary to support the argument.

Firstly, it is important to analyze the viewer complaints received. The argument mentions that the complaints were regarding the station's coverage of weather and local news but does not give any evidence about the quantity of such complaints. It might be possible that only few people had some issue with the news. Moreover, it is possible that the complaints were not about the decrease of local or weather news but about the quality of local news. The argument does not give any evidence about what the complaints were. Therefore, evidence regarding the quantity of complaints and the what the complaints talked about is necessary. If there were few complaints, then the conclusion does not hold water.

Secondly, an evidence is needed to show a direct relationship between the decrease in local news broadcast and the decrease in advertisement. It might be possible that the local businesses cancelled their contracts because they found an alternate cheap source for their advertisement. If that is true, this weakens the conclusion derived from the decrease in advertisements. Therefore, an evidence is required to analyze the cancellation of contracts.

Finally, an evidence is required which shows that an increase in time devoted to weather and local news will increase the viewership. The arguments fails to show any relationship between the views and the type of news broadcasted. It might be possible that people have shifted to online news and have started to watch news on youtube. If that is the case then increasing the time for local news would not necessarily increase the viewership.

To conclude, the evidence regarding the quantity of complaints, relationship between advertisements and the type of news broadcasted, and relationship between local news and viewership is required without which the conclusion does not hold water.