A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

Over the past several decades, schools have adopted different curriculums. The prompt claims that all students should study the same curriculum in their school. I mostly disagree this proposal for two reasons. However, I do concede that there are a few things which every school should teach their students.

To begin with, a variety in curriculum is necessary because every person has different interest and skills. For example, if a student wants to excel in music and theatre, there is no point in forcing him or her to study arts. If Cristiano Ronaldo was ordered to play piano and attend history classes, he couldn't have much time to practiced soccer and the the world could have never known a legend. If mark Zuckerburg had spent most of time learning how to paint, this world would have been a different place without the breakthrough invention of Facebook. Thus, every individual is different with different talent and skills and we if force them to study the same things, they will never get enough opportunity to perfect the one field which they love the most. The body of knowledge that exists in the world is enormous and infinite. Having a national curriculum implies that there are a certain set of things worth learning.

Secondly, every teacher has different methods of teaching. For instance, an English teacher is excellent in teaching a certain book and many students have inspired by her and read that book just because of her enthusiasm and talent. If government exclude that book in its national curriculum then the students will miss out on great learning experience. It would also limit the quality of teaching that teacher brings into classroom and the quality of teaching and learning will go down.

However, I do concede that there are certain skills and knowledge that every student should have. For example, every student should know the fundamentals of different subjects. All students should have a basic understanding of algebra, calculus, basic concepts of science and history. Every student should be taught to do their taxes and some self defence techniques. These are the things that will help them survive the world no matter in which field they will be working.

In conclusion, there are many reason to not standardize the curriculum. It will suppress the uniqueness of students and teachers. So all schools should have different curriculum according to the needs of students and skills of teachers, with a few exceptional subjects.