Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Ever since the first human gazed up at the night sky, human beings have never stopped acquiring knowledge and attempting to understand the surrounding environment. The statement assess that scientific research should aim at promoting the benefit of the people. I mostly agree with this prompt for two reasons. However I do concede that there are a few fields of research that may or may not benefit humans but they should get the attention.

To begin with, scientific researches, over the past hundred of years in the medical field have saved billions of lives. A disease that was considered life threatening before the medical advancement, can now be treated easily withing days. An ideal example to assess this statement would be the discovery of penicillin. The discovery of penicillin have changed the face of medicine and saved millions of lives. Another example to support this statement is discovery of smallpox vaccine. For centuries smallpox devastated mankind. In modern times we do not have to worry about it thanks to the remarkable work of Edward Jenner. We owe our lives and good health to a series of medical reasearchs that were made to help mankind.

Secondly, the researches that were done to our ease day-to-day tasks and routine have made it possible for us to have a luxurious life. It is because of invention of cars and automobiles that we can travel large distances within few hours. Thanks to Benjamin Franklin and his daring experiment to discover electricity, we now live in a world where we are not dependent on the natural light of sun. Another example to prove that our lives have become so much easy and comfortable is the continues discovery and advancement in technology. With the invention of mobile phones and computers, everything we need to know is now on our fingertip. We are not required to step out of our home to buy groceries, we just need a device that was developed as a result of millions of researches that were done to help people and to make their life easier.

However, I do believe that certain fields research worth time and attention even when it not assured that they will benefit people or not. The best example to illustrate the statement will the research in the field of space exploration. The space, as we know, is infinite and the knowledge we have now is significantly small. Thousands of scientists spend their whole life try to figure out the mysteries of the outer world. Even though most of the discoveries made in this field are not so beneficial currently but they do affect our lives in some ways. I do believe that even just for the sake of knowledge, this field is worth the attention and focus of scientists.

In conclusion, without the researches focus on collective benefit of humankind, thousands of people would still be dying of common diseases every year. We would still be writing letters to our loved ones that are far away from us. If we continue to support these researches the world will become a more better place to live.