Humans arrived in the Kaliko Islands about 7,000 years ago, and within 3,000 years most of the large mammal species that had lived in the forests of the Kaliko Islands were extinct. Previous archaeological findings have suggested that early humans generally relied on both fishing and hunting for food; since archaeologists have discovered numerous sites in the Kaliko Islands where the bones of fish were discarded, it is likely that the humans also hunted the mammals. Furthermore, researchers have uncovered simple tools, such as stone knives, that could be used for hunting. The only clear explanation is that humans caused the extinction of the various mammal species through excessive hunting.

The author claims that humans, that arrived in Kaliko islands caused the extinction of the various mammal species through excessive hunting. However, the author supports his argument with three assumptions that, if not substantiated, will dramatically weaken the assumption.

Firstly, the author assumes that only the people of Kaliko killed and hunted the large animals. It is possible that people living in the neighbouring islands were the real culprits. They hunted and caused the mammals to extinct. According to the argument, the archaeologists did not search other islands. It is likely that people of Kaliko are getting blamed for some crime their neighbour committed. If this is true, then the argument that, Kaliko people are responsible for the extinction of mammals, does not hold water.

Secondly, the author assumes that the mammals on the islands were extinct because of hunting. It possible that they couldn't survive the environmental changes over the years. If we look at the history, the reason for most of the extinction of species largely include the failure to adapt the changes in surrounding like rise in temperature, less rain and more draught. It is also possible that a natural disaster like earthquake or flood wiped out the entire species. If either of the scenarios has merit, then the conclusion drawn in main argument, that mammals were extinct because of excessive hunting, is significantly weakened.

Finally, how can the archaeologists relate the discovery of fish bones to the hunting of mammals? It is possible that the people of Kaliko liked to do fishing but that does not mean they also killed the mammals. Maybe they just hunt other animals and fishes. The archaeologists, deduced without any evidence, that if people Kaliko were hunting fishes, they must be hunting mammals too. Furthermore, it is also plausible that,the tools that they discovered such as stone knives were not for hunting. The tools can be used to protect or defend from wild animals or any enemy. If any of the cases is true, then author's statement is not overly persuasive.

In conclusion, the argument, as it stands now, is considerably flawed and rife with holes. It relies on unwarranted assumptions that, if not substantiated, will dramatically weaken the persuasiveness of the argument. If author can answer the questions above or provide some evidence, then it is possible to evaluate the viability of the proposed recommendation.