A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your positi

Every student needs to complete primary and high school education before entering college. A student's knowledge base is primarily built during his school years. As a consequence, the school curriculum plays a pivotal role in shaping the future of the students. Hence, it is of vital importance that all the students who go on to attend colleges receive the basic knowledge of different fields so that they can successfully pursue their college studies and go on to have bright futures. The best way to ensure this is to impose the same national curriculum around the whole country.

Primary and high school education constitute a rudimentary part of a student's educational journey. If a student can be given the proper direction during these budding years, then he can successfully deal with all the obstacles that he will face in his future career. However, if the basic knowledge is not imparted in these primary levels, then regardless of the quality of education a student might receive in his college years, it becomes very difficult for him to negate all the complications that might arise in his career. The best way to ensure that all the students receive the appropriate amount of background knowledge needed to succeed in college is to ensure that they go through the same curriculum during their school level. One such example can be found in the education system of Japan. In Japan, every student up to high school needs to study in the same basic curriculum that is designed with a view to help the students find out the areas in which they excel and in which they are not so proficient. As a result, when they decide to attend college, they know exactly what fields they want to pursue their studies in. A survey shows that before Japan implemented the same national curriculum country wide, the rate of college drop-outs was around 46% ,whereas, after they implemented the same curriculum nationwide, the rate came down to only a meager 12.5%. This demonstrates that having the same curriculum before entering college benefits the students in making the right decision about college and their field of study.

Along the same lines, we can also look at the education system another developing country, Bangladesh, where all the students are required to pass the primary and higher secondary exams before entering college. These exams are based on the same curriculum nation-wide. Hence, all the students are required to study the same topics and thus builds a proper knowledge base before attending colleges.

This system of having the same national curriculum however is not always so successful. Sometimes, a student who has an exceptional aptitude in a specific topic, may need to focus more on a particular area or field so that he or she can prosper ever more. In such exceptional cases, the educational system of a country needs to exempt that brilliant individual from the general national curriculum and put him in a special system so that he can further enhance his abilities.

In conclusion, we can say that it is usually the best decision to impart the same national curriculum throughout the country so that all the students who attend colleges have a basic foundation to build on and can make better decisions regarding their college and their future career.