A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college

The curriculum taken by the student for his or her studies prior to graduate studies (in college) defines, in a way, the foundation of the particular student. Each student has a unique talent and a unique way of understanding things. Some students are good at science and maths, while others are good at business, arts, etc. The prompt suggests that before entering college all students should be required, independent of their own interests, to study a nation-based ubiquitous curriculum which is expected to be followed everywhere. I moderately disagree with the prompt due to three reasons.

A national curriculum, in many ways, can neither cater to nor accomodate the disparate interests of students. In high school, some students might develop a predilection for music, while some students may want to focus on mathematics or perhaps theoretical computational field. If the mentioned nation wide curriculum forces all students to take computer based and mathematics based courses, the students will never get a chance to explore other fields that they might enjoy more than the ones they are forced to enroll in. For instance, there can be cases where a student, if exposed to sports and arts would excelor perform much better than, say, theoretical physics, which he or she is forced to take as a part of the curriculum. Therefore, it is quite possible that the student might even loose interest and confidence in graduate studies (due to lack of exposure of fields) and may not even enroll in college, or drop out soon. As hypothesised, the interest and confidence of the student in college depends on the national curriculum. This implies that a nation based curriculum might deprive the nation of, what could have been prodigies. Most importantly, it might have an adverse affect on the mental health of the student as they are likely to develop a bad self-image (attained due to poor performance in college or lack of interest).

Additionally, it is likely that a nation based curriculum would be defined in the best interest of the nation rather than undergraduate students as a whole. If the government, at one time believes that the economy of the country can be improved if the number of software engineers in the country increase, they might come up with a dictum mentioning mandatory computer science courses for all students, i.e. a nation based curriculum based solely on computer sciences. However, it is quite likely that the boost in the sector is ephemeral: in 2010s the machine learning field was one of the most lucrative fields in the computer science domain while around ten years later, blockchain has received a big boost and is now one of the most lucrative job fields. Therefore, to base the curriculum on unforeseeable changes might be counterproductive as people 'forced' to train in software engineering once might not be able to secure jobs few years later, greatly affecting the economy.

Although the curriculum should be flexible, there should be some restrictions on the necessary courses in pre nursery and schools below high school level. Said restrictions are prudent as a student who has just started with school is unaware of the fields he will excel in (in the future: ignoring any prophetic ability one may have). Therefore to get a taste or jist of existing fields and to avoid restricting one to what seems then, a 'serendipitous field', the government may make some courses necesary for all students like physical education, science, history, etc. There sould be a well thought-out planning by the national experts to decide such courses and should be kept as vast as possibe to provide the needed exposure to students.