A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

There has been a long standing debate about standardising the curriculum so that every student gets the same amount of education going into college. I strongly agree on this front as I myself as a person felt this difference with my peers going into college. I was on the advantageous side relative to some people as well as on the disadvantageous side with respect to others. I would like to explain my stand on this with 2 reasons.

Firstly, Having non-standardised curriculum leaves a lot of bias/advantage to the students whose parents are well off as they can afford good and quality education and would love to see their children in schools that have superior curriculum. This not only gives a huge advantage to them going into college since they already have a head start or got their basics right with few advanced topics compared with their counterparts who may not have had access/knowledge about those subjects. This also makes it easier for them by making their application strong thereby giving them a considerable boost to get into the top universities of the country whereas children who couldn't afford quality curriculum would be on the backseat with respect to college applications.

Secondly, Having the same national curriculum gives a chance to bring out the hidden talents in the country and thereby provide quality education to them through scholarships or subsidised education schemes. This would be possible since a standardised set of exams can be brought into place if all the students study the same curriculum which provides a common testing ground for all the students in the country thereby extracting the best talent irrespective of which school they've studied which is a reflective of their economic background of the family. For example, India has a standard curriculum for all the 11th and 12th grade students which makes it easier for them to hold common entrance exams to the elite institutes of the nation making it relatively fair for everyone in the country to get into those colleges.

Therefore , Inspite of how tough it is to standardise the curriculum for the whole nation, if we achieve to do that effectively , it helps us fight some societal challenges and give an equal and a fair chance to all the students of the nation to ensure quality education is reached to each and every family irrespective of their economic background.