In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

You need to have a mixture of imaginative capability and knowledge to be successful anywhere be it in academics or at workplaces. But there has been this long-standing debate between the two which claims one to be more important that the other to excel. I stand on the point that imagination is more important than knowledge and according to me plays a more pivotol role. I strongly agree on this for 2 reasons.

Firstly, I feel knowledge is something that can be gained easily if a person is smart enough and devotes some amount of time to learning it. Whereas imaginative capability is something that should be inculcated in people from their childhood and cannot be learnt within a short period of time or if something demands of it. For example, those who work in the field of computer science tend to struggle more with finding the solution logic for the problem whereas the programming language to solve the problem is often not a roadblock.The language can be easily learnt even if they don't have the prior knowledge to write it. An imaginative person would therefore solve the problem more efficiently than a person with previous knowledge on the language. Hence, the need to inculcate imaginative thoughts holds more value.

Secondly, more often than not, we don't work or use all of the knowledge that we've acquired in the daily professions or even the academic projects and the grades indicative to the knowledge we have are not a clear factor. Since in the ever changing world, nothing is constant and we have to be up-to-date with the present trends, any knowledge thus learnt might not be constant. We might have to switch and learn some new set of knowledge to keep up with the changes. Whereas, imaginative capability is something that stays with us irrespective of how the trends change and infact, is a clear indicator of the cognitive capability of the brain to learn new things faster. Therefore, a focus creative thinking holds more weightage whereas the knowledge learnt could be ephemeral.

Although, there has been a lot of backing to the thought that acquiring that specific knwoledge is a one stop solution to success, it is a wrong perception. Imagination and creative thinking should take the center stage for schools, colleges or workplaces and the ones showing these abilities should be thouroughly encouraged and supported. Hence, in most professions and academic fields, imagination is more vital to a person than knowledge.