A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education plays a vital role in transforming students and providing them with basic qualities and an adequate skill-set which is required in life. Proponents of a standardized curriculum argue that everyone should be given the same educational opportunity regardless of location. A closer examination of the issue reveals that a standardized curriculum has pros and cons, but is still an acceptable recommendation.

First and foremost, a national curriculum alleviates the problem of uniformity. Uniformity can appear in the form of grading, schooling, and evaluation across the nation as everyone has the same curriculum. However, uniformity is not a bad thing. For example, students studying in rural areas would face the same problems and gain the same knowledge as students who live in a big metropolis. The students would have the same skill-set and knowledge to compete on a national basis.

However, it may not be economically possible for a nation to keep uniformity in a national curriculum, particularly when the cost of infrastructure and quality assurance are not met by the budget a nation. For example, poor nations without much government intervention find it difficult to mandate federal programs because of the cost. It is a nation's better interest to invest in education, but if there is not sufficient funding, then a national curriculum would not be an acceptable recommendation.

To conclude, a national curriculum is necessary to achieve opportunity and uniformity among students' education. Although it may be economically difficult to support this recommendation, it is in a nation's better interest to have a national curriculum.