A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

The world is moving more and more towards specialization. When single people in ancient times, though with less perfection, could have carried out the works of different dimensions it is almost impossible to be such generalist in the present era. In this context, moulding the education system in such a way that it prioritizes specialization from earlier days of schooling might sound relevant. However, basic understanding of almost every field of education is almost mandatory for survival in present days, let alone for specializing in some field in later days. No scholar can be a perfect physicist if he doesn’t have some knowledge from other areas such as biology, chemistry or mathematics. And nothing can do a better job to provide us with this basic level of knowledge from different dimensions than the basic national curriculum.

Many critics of the above argument might argue that teaching student with their area of interest can aid in making them able to chase the dream of their life from earlier days and national curriculum might include several subjects that one might deter that only makes education more perilous. However, at the age before we start our college education, we are not mature enough to determine that aim (dream) of our lives. The dreams that we set for ourselves are mostly forced to us. For instance, I was forced to make the dream of my life to be a doctor during my childhood but I only later found that I had no interest in studying medicine. Had I been enrolled in the curriculum that only focused on medicine from my earlier school days, I would have always regretted my decision. So, this inability among the children to decide themselves about what to study and what not to that makes studying basic national curriculum designed by the government a perfect option.

Finally, to live a decent life we need to learn some basic values, have a basic understanding of the society, and get acquainted with the basic skills of various field and all these functions are done by the basic national curriculum provided during our school days. I would never had learned, for instance, the history of my country, various people that live in different part of my country, different cultures and festival of my country had I been enrolled in the engineering course directly during my school days rather than teaching history, social studies that is included in the basic national curriculum.