Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Fourth mass extinction is on the brink. Whole planet is suffering from the scourges brought about by climate induced disasters. Scientists are warning the dire consequences that will be caused by habitat loss, deforestation and various natural mayhem. In this context, saving the nature should be the first priority rather than any economic gain.

It is human tendency to move towards economic prosperity. In this twenty-first century when the nature of economy demands never-ending growth, exploiting nature for the economic gain has become a norm. For instance, swaths of Amazon forest in Brazil are being burned down to meet the growing demand soya bean and beef. Similarly in Nepal, many rivers even in remote parts are being mined for sand and gravels for the construction purpose. However, the government in these countries has turned blind eye to these activities that has spurred myriad of natural hazards. Burning of the Amazon, for example, is estimated to release huge amount of carbon exacerbating the human induced climate change and the loss of habitat of many species of plant and animal caused by burning may render them extinct disrupting the biological system.

At present, land area about 22 football fields is being deforested in every second which is very likely to make wild areas and species residing in these area very rare in the future. Moreover, the lack of habitat caused by the inability to protect wilderness areas will make wild animals encroach the human settlements causing large amount of property and life losses. In the southern part of Nepal, many communities are very vulnerable to the attack of wild animals. It is nothing new, for instance, for most of the community to be attacked by wild elephants and tigers. So it is mandatory to forsake any economic benefit and pass laws to protect the wilderness areas to protect local community, plants and animal species and ultimately the planet.

And it is not that we are losing economic benefit totally if we are leaving wilderness area in their natural state without exploiting them for the development purpose. Instead we can easily benefit from these protected wilderness areas directly or indirectly. Directly we can earn ample of amount of money from the tourist who can visit these areas to see the natural beauty. Similarly, such areas can elicit abundant amount of research personnel from the foreign country that can also aid in economic gain from the area. Indirectly we are saving abundant amount of money that government would have to spend for preventing the wild animals attack or any natural disasters that destruction of these areas could have invited. Finally we are living in the era, when environment should be given, if not more, equal priority to economy and make efforts to protect wilderness areas rather than exploiting them for economic gain.