Society should make efforts to save endangered species only if the potential extinction of those species is the result of human activities.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

Society or nation is fully responsible for the preservation and protection of the species which are going to be extinct in the nature. It is because human beings are the most conscience living being in the planet and their role plays a vital role in the sustainability and occurrence of the other all species in the world; as human beings are manipulating al-most all species in the planet for their benefits. So, Society should make every possible effort to save these endangered species.

Human beings are growing day by day. With the increment of human population, their desires augments in a very rapid pace and their activities directly and indirectly harming the existing population of species due to which some of them are listed as endangered. The over-exploitation of human beings and lack of proper care and maintenance has a great impact on the potential extinction of these species. So it is so exigent to give top priority to make efforts to save those going-to-be extinct species. These special efforts can help to revive them from the jeopardy. It helps to keep up the ecological balance for the better performance of the nature and these species will be ensured for future. If they are prevented from being extinct, and special efforts are done to increase their number through effective breeding and other maintenance options, then number will escalate and future generation will have opportunity to enjoy their existence. For example; endangered species like Bengal Tigers, which have been in the serious condition today due to human activities like poaching and illegal hunting, if not given stress today, they will be extinct in just few coming generations. So, priority should be given to those endangered species which are in danger today due to our own activities because if we do not check on it recently, we cannot be do anything in future, only just repenting on our remiss.

However, there is not only sole cause for major extinction of endangered species. Besides human beings, natural calamities like flood, landslides, volcano, earthquake, climate change and change in species' behavior and habitats can also be other factors which are also affecting the number of those species adversely. These activities are not always in the hand of human beings, they can be natural too. So, it is very important to identify the major causes of the extinction of those species before taking any actions. For example; if a group of species is decreasing in number due to change in their behavior, then at that case, recommendations related to decrease the impacts of human beings cannot do enough good. Proper scientific research should be done in order to find the major cause of extinction and government should impart possible rules and regulations to stop or prevent negative impacts of possible factors. If these activities are done in a right way, then proper solution for the extinction of species will be achieved. For example; decreasing the human impact and in the same time, increasing their number through effective breeding and scientific techniques can be best solution for most of the endangered species.

In these ways, it is concluded that society should make efforts for all types of extinction; natural or human-influenced. It's not always the extinction is due to human activities. It might be influenced by other several factors which also should be stressed in these programmes.