Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Universities and colleges are the places which helps to develop person's physical, mental and social well being along with their intellectual well-being. Universities and colleges should not be limited to just academics, but rather should be all-encompassing which should focus on all round development of a student. Sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries. So, I strongly agree with the author prompts that as like the academical field, sports and social activities should be given equal financial support.

Every person has their own talents and interests. Universities should deploy it's finance on exploring the divergent talents and interests of their students. If the students are just compelled on the specific subjects without seriously underscoring their needs and desires, it cannot develop them effectively. So, if universities or any colleges just focus on grades of students, it cannot simply affect all students effectively because all students cannot have similar desire on academics rather some of them might like to be a good sportsmen or social activist in future. These different dreams cannot be fulfilled by just the academics field of any universities or any college. So, with the same respect and proportion, the administration of any college or university should also invest same financial support to the fields like sports and social activities as like the academics field. For example; If Sachin Tendulkar was in the college where there was no such focus on sports like cricket, then could he achieve what he has achieved now in the field of cricket, as so called as "master of cricket". He might performed well in academics but how about his dreams- aren't they important ?

It is very crucial to every person to be physically, mentally and socially well-being. The availability and access of these diverse fields in the college or university surely helps to enhance the all-round well-being of the person. Intense mental pressure and stress which is frequent in the field of academics is pacified by other fields like social activities and sports which are entertaining and friendly in nature. For example; many good universities helps to keep up with sports and social activities like tour, expedition, games etc, to revitalize their students from intense load of academics, which will affect them positively in long run. Similarly, sports and social activities are very important to keep up mentally and socially strong which is very crucial in performing any activities efficiently. For example; a physically and socially well-being person can be better in business and also can learn faster than a sick and socially-awkward person.

Due to these above different reasons, universities and colleges should give equal priority to sports and social activities too as like the academics. They should support these all fields equally with finance .Only then the performance of the students will be better as desired and also helps to keep the university in a good faith with parents and students.