A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A uniformed national curriculum will gain nothing but impair the freedom and the capability of the teachers. One can argue that by having only one set of national curriculum, students will be taught with the same material, or even in the same way. When one student moves from the west coast to the east coast, it doesn't take much efforts for her to catch up with the material in class and pass the transition phase. Furthermore, one possible reason for uniformed curriculum maybe that if the students have learned the same material, they may be equal and should have the same opportunities. But it is unrealistic, I disagree with the a uniformed curriculum because students are different and they are entitled to be taught differently to become a well-rounded person.

First, teachers teach in different styles. Suppose there is one teacher who finds out a way to inspire the students to read more about the course material and learn on their own, if the curriculum is standardized , this teacher may instead only cover the curriculum books, and the previous teaching style will be completely dropped. In this case, the students in his class will be missing out on what might have been a good teaching experience. The standardized curriculum also limits how much of the teachers' unique knowledge he or she can bring to the classroom.

Secondly, students learns in different ways and speeds. A standard curriculum may require all the students to learn linear algebra in 8th grade. However, some students are not fully prepared to learn this kind of knowledge and need more time to digest the underlying knowledge. Forcing every student to learn the same material regardless of their progress can increase giant gap among students. The students who are left behind at first have little chance to catch up with the progress in the class.

There are many reasons not to standardize the curriculum. The uniqueness of students and teachers is the most obvious, but students from less educated backgrounds will suffer the most. The creativity of a nation as a whole would fall with a standardized curriculum. Therefore, curriculum should have standards, not be standardized and education should respect the diversity of the students and be flexible about this kind of diversity.