A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Per our current system, education and curriculum are set by the state. However, this poses a conflict in that not all children are receiving the same quality of education. A standard national curriculum would be advantageous in that it would close the gaps in education that occur between various states.

Implementing a standard national curriculum would close education gaps by leveling the playing field for students who are zoned to underfunded schools.

These schools often do not have enough income to provide even books for the students, let alone a quality curriculum. By implementing a national curriculum, these children would be guaranteed to have the same information presented to them as children at a more well-funded institution. This would eventually affect the college admissions process in which, currently, children who are from better schools have a more prestigious curriculum and, thus, are more likable in a blind admissions process. A national curriculum would solve the pressing issue in which not all children have equal access to a quality education.

Secondly, a national curriculum would assure that all children in the same grade are learning the same things. This would be advantageous in the case of, say, a cross-country move. Currently, if a child's family decides to relocate, the child may be placed in a school in which his new school's curriculum is the same as the curriculum presented in his previous year at his prior school. A national curriculum would ensure that all children of the same age in the country are receiving the same information, assuring that no child leaves school with gaps in their education.

On the contrary, a national curriculum could be seen as limiting the ability to individualize a curriculum to meet a child's particular needs. This would be especially disadvantageous in special education, in which each child needs a specific education plan that allows them to be challenged properly at their developmental level. However, provisions could be made to a national curriculum to allow for customization when needed.

In conclusion, a national curriculum would help close the current existing gaps in education, especially those gaps that occur from state-to-state. As long as education is legislated by the state government, children from one state to the next will be learning vastly different things.