A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

While if the students throughout the country study same national curriculum until they enter college, every student in a country gets equal opportunities to develop their skills and are measured by same standards. Following same national curriculum also helps students to get broader knowledge and overview of all states of the country. But, such a practice doesn’t help students to indulge in gaining profound native knowledge pertaining to their own region.

Firstly, the basic responsibility of educational system is to impart its students the skill of reading, writing and speaking to communicate with people around them and gain knowledge from their surroundings. But, national curriculum of many countries doesn’t include native language as a compulsory subject. So, students who study national curriculum cannot write and read their own mother tongue, they can only speak. To exemplify, in India the national curriculum includes Hindi and English languages and doesn’t include any language of its state. Hence, particularly in Southern India, where each state has a specific native language, the students cannot read their native newspapers, books and even names of shops, roads written in native language.

Secondly, but in this modern world, every country has itinerant families, staying in one state for few years and then shifting to other state as parents of the families get transferred from state to state. For example in India military families cannot stay continuously more than 5-6 years in a state, because the parents who do military jobs often get transferred from a state to other state in mid of an academic year. In such circumstances the kids of these families can continue their education without dropping an academic year in schools of any state which follow same national curriculum.

Thirdly, generally in designing the national curriculum highly talented, intelligent experts having different perspectives about the process of development of students are employed by government of any country. The outcome of such collaborations lead to well organised programs in educational system which indulge broader perspective helping overall development of students. Like, in India the national curriculum has emphasis on various sports and personality development to enhance the physical strength and mental strength of students. The various extra – curricular activities included in the national curriculum like debates, dance competitions, seminar competitions, martial - arts competitions helps students to develop their creativity, spontaneous nature and intuition. If all schools of a country employs such a well - developed system and if government continuously monitors the implementation of these methods and progress of schools, such a process can build strong foundation of development of the country as today’s students are tomorrow’s citizens of the country. If different states employ different curriculum, the monitoring of schools becomes difficult task for the government and these schools may not employ effective methods for overall development of students. Like in various schools of Telugu states of India has emphasis on only IIT- JEE coaching, medicine coaching and their programs doesn’t really include sports.

To conclude, implementation of same national curriculum helps in developing effective educational programs, but such a curriculum should also include emphasis on important native knowledge and teach native language. In this way students can get broader exposure and can also understand the values of their native cultures and it helps them to gain knowledge from their surroundings.