A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The education system is always a contentious topic of debate for a nation because it has the greatest influence to young children. Due to its tremendous impact on people's lives, some people argue that the nation should be in charge in enforcing the same national curriculum to all students. Although this claim does seem legitimate at the outset, I believe that the curriculum students study should vary.

Admittedly, teaching the same national curriculum does benefit students because it allows them to retain an equal degree of knowledge. The reason this is important is because the society as a whole has a tacit baseline of the level of common knowledge a person should have. For example, historical milestones such as the founding of the United States of America or the Cuban Missile Crisis are deemed as facts that everyone should be knowledgable about. People do not usually ask whether other people know what these events are; it is a given that all people have learned about them in school. Therefore, in order for a person to feel equally competent to others, it would seem prudent to institute the same national curriculum.

However, the aforementioned idea fails to look at the bigger picture. Requiring the same curriculum for all types of students varying in physicial and mental capabilities can rather deter the development of their abilities. To try to achieve equality, the system would be forgoing individualism, which is a tremendous impediment in allowing children to reach their full potential. For example, even if certain children show artistic talents at a young age, they would not be able to work on improving these skills if forced to take the same classes as other peers. The students would not only miss out on the chance to become formidable artists, but the nation would also be losing its chance of engendering influential public figures.

Another point to be cautious about regarding the same national curriculum is that, without careful observation on the materials, the system could be abused to propagate political agendas. There have been many cases in history where students of colonies were given education making them feel more favorable to the countries that reigned over them. In South Korea, under the Japanese Colonial Period in the early 1900s, the Japanese instigated a pro-Japanese atmosphere by forcing children to praise the Japanese emperor. Even today, some adults still retain some parts of the knowledge taught then and maintain the misguided notion that Japan was an ally instead of an enemy back then. As illustrated in this example, education has a long-lasting subconscious effect on people's lives, and if the nation was solely in charge of drawing up class material, it is likely to become biased, and this bias could last for a long period in people.

In conclusion, even though enforcing the same national curriculum could seem advantageous at first glance, when contemplated on in depth, you can see that it is not a wise approach in education. Enforcing the same education could deter students from developing their abilities and developing their perspectives.