A Nation Should Require All Of Its Students To Study The Same National Curriculum

The education system is one of the strongest pillars of any society that develops and manifests technological, economical, cultural blossoming. In this endeavor mandating uniform curriculum to all the students until they enter college seems to benefit any nation at large by providing holistic developmental curriculum that takes all the fields into consideration, and by providing unifrom curriculum they are promoting national integraiton in multicultural societies or multi linguisitc nations.

Primarily, providing uniform curriculum to all the pupils eases the burden on the board of education for setting up different curriculum. Providing same set of educational subjects provided that it emcompasses holisitic development would present the same set of environemnt for the students to choose their field of study. Since college is when the pupils chooses thier subjects of interest, they would be subject to all the fields to get a preview or the introduction so that they have holistic view of the availbale fields and how they are intricately connected. This negates being parchially inclined in choosing a subject.

Secondly, different boards of examinations such as one present in India as CBSE, ICSE, and state boards do have uniform curriculum in each of them, just that each of them would go deeper into the subejcts presented. THis neccessitates to cater to the more inquisitve students.

However, mandating all the students would, in a way, be promoting herd thinking. If all the younger generations are taught the same subjects, thinking beyond what is presented, which is the necessasry tool to all innovation, would be dampened. One might also argue that a child prodigy who knows what field the he/ she is interested in, might fail in this education system and would feel stuck until they have to ficish all the mandatory courses. These special cases of students might be hampered from finishing their education earlier than others.

In the light of the above argument, mandating all the students would, by and large hampers the development of gifted children. However, the education system must also have provision to bypass the necessary "mandatory courses", if the sutdents are promising in their field and are definite in what they want to do. Hence, a uniform curriculum would be benefitting the nation in national integration, reduce the burden on educational board, and dampen the parochial mindset. And the education system should be designed in the light of the argument that some might want to by pass the system.