Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.'

The television is the face of the modern societies. The content broadcasted by the television in a region tells us the preferences of the inhabitants of the region. The field of journalism and digital media is subject to many parameters such as economic condition of the nation, societal perception, and the nation's common interest.

According to the memorandum by the manager, it is clear that the repercussions have been observed since the late night program had taken a shift in dedicating most of the time to national news than local news and weather. There might numerous latent reasons for the shift in focus. What the memorandum fails to describe is what made the television station to change the previously held paradigm. There could be a significant news material in the national level that is presiding, like government overhaul which required focus on national news? Or something really required everybody to be aware of. The memorandum sheds no light on what was the viewers preferences prior to the change in timings.

Secondly, the memorandum takes light on the complaints received from the viewers. But it does not necessarily sheds light upon the nature of their complaints. It does not inform us whether is it because of the reduced time of the coverage in local news or the nature of the content covered. The telvision channel might not be accurate in their weather forecast in one of the parallel universes. The complaints might be because of the quality of the content of the local news. What concerns do these encompass? Certainly, it talks about the coverage of the news on the field than the timing. Consequently, the television has to improve upon its field workers' skill set who work on the local news to cover as much as possible. Probably train or hire more proficient field workers. Presenting the covered material in the same amount of time might deliver quality content that might satisfy the viewers. Consequently, it reflects in the revenue with the RTP ratings.

Small businesses are mercurial and prone to national economic fluctuations. Any disturbance in the national economy might catalyze small local businesses to reduce their costs and they might retract their advertising contract. The retraction might also suggest that the cost might have been hiked for advertising by the television. The businesses might consider in their strategy that their potential customers might not be night owls nor watch a certain television channel because of its political inclination. The authorities of channel should look for businesses that target the night viewers as their potential customers so as to invite them to the ad platform to increase the revenue by the Ad department.

Restoring to the former schedule might not enhance or restore similar viewing trend as expected in the memorandum. The channel has to invest in observing the nature of complaints and underlying reasons for retraction of the businesses' advertisement in the light of present situation of the nation it is presiding in. Only after observing the trends, one might conclude and design the timings to match the expectation of the customers. Increasing the coverage of local news and providing accurate weather forecast that presents all parts of the state should be considered before mandating restoration of the timings.