Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The manager of the television station briefly provides the problem that has been faced by the channel recently. The field of journalism and digital media through which it touches the people is subject to many parameter such as economic condition of the nation, societal perception, and the nation's common interest.

Firstly, it is clear that the repercussions have been observed since the late night program had taken a shift in dedicating most of the time to national news than local news and weather. But what it fails to describe is what made the television station to change the previously held paradigm. Was there a govenmenatl overhaul which required focus on national news? The memorandum sheds no light on what was the viewers position prior to the change in timings. The reason for changing the time might be because of lot of reasons.

Secondly, the memorandum takes light on the complaints received from the viewers. But it does not necessarily sheds light upon the nature of their compalints. It does not informs us it is because of the reduced time. The telveion channel might not be accurate in their weather forecast. The complaints might be because of the quality of the content of the local news.

What concerns do these encompass? Certainly, it talks about the coverage of the news on the field than the timing. Hence the tleveision has to improve upon its field workers who work on the local news to cover as much as possible. Presenting the covered material in the same time might also satisfy the viewers.

Local businesses might retract their advertising contracts for numerous reasons. They might be rethinking of reducing the budget in advertising. Or the recent economic downshift might have forced them to reduce their other costs. The retraction might also suggest that the cost might have been hiked for advertising. Or the businesses might consider that their potential customers might not be night owls. The authorities of channel should look for businesses that target the night viewers as their potential customers so as to invite them to the ad platform to increase the revenue by the Ad department.

In lieu of the underlying assumptions, restoring to the former level might not enhance or restore the similar customer satisfaction. The channel has to invest in observing the nature of complaints and retraction of the bussinesses' advertisement in the light of present situation of the nation it is presiding in. Only after observing the trends on might conclude and design the timings to match the expectation of the customers. Increasing the coverage of local news and providing accurate weather forecast that presents all parts of the state should be considered before mandating restoration of the timings.