Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

The concerned parent may have raised voice against the recently supplanted vendor stating that the lunch options are not enjoyed by the Kensington Academy's pupils. The parent also argues that the intent of such a turnover is to serve healthier food to the growing children students might start bringing their own lunch which might be unhealthy. Primary inspection of this argument by the concerned parent definitely alerts anyone as to the the assumptions that the parent makes. The parent's argument is rife with unwarranted assumptions and definitely needs a thorough examination of the previous cafeteria service, the neighbourhood in which the school resides, the kind of students the Kensington Academy attracts.

Firstly, children need food that encourage their holistic development of physical, emotional, and their social well being. they do not need tailor made low-fat, low - calorie food. The parent makes an assumption that low - calorie, low - fat foods are healthy. Children need a balanced diet that includes all components of food, which include sufficient amount of carohydrate for their day-to-day activities, fat - for their high intensity works as playing, proteins - for their development. The children, allegedly, do not enjoy the food. One might look into aspects of lunch that are not enjoyed. Increasing the number of lunch options might solve the problem. A routinely served food would obviously tire children and might not be enjoyed. Surprising with different kinds of food every day, with obvious concerns that it is healthy would make it enjoyable.

Secondly, the concerned parent argues that the children might bring unhealthy food if the vendor is not supplanted. The parent makes unwarranted assumption that the children are the one who prepare their lunch and they might not have the proper dietary knowledge. And it also makes an assumption that the nieghborhood is economically backward and might not shelter parents that have proper dietary concerns. Such vague assumptions have to be inspected. Bringing home lunch may be healthy. Since each parent takes utmost importance to their children's health. One should also look into the neighborhood in which the Academy resides in and the economic background of the children. It also makes serious assumption that cafeteria food is always nutritious than home food.

Replacing Swift Nutrition would make thing worse by employing even worse vendor. Employing a vendor who specialise in children's nutrition would be a better option before replacing. Or increasing the lunch options with the Swift Nutrition itself would solve the problem. It is not guaranteed that the change would always bring good with it. It might just exacerbate the situation.