According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Prodution Company contends that there in no paucity in the quality of the movies but with the propogation of the positive reviews. That the reviews are not reaching its 'propective viewers' is the underlying problem which could be solved by advertising about the good quality movies through which the awareness of the public reagarding the movies increase, consequently more viewers would attend Super Screen - produced movies. Hence, the advertising director calls for greater share of budget for advertising. Primary inspection this contention might look acceptable but further observation reveals this argument is rife with assumptions and no direct connection in drawing conclusions.

Firstly, we might want to look at the data prior to making any decision. The report that the director mentions reveals no information about which places are looked at. it only suggests that 'fewer people attended' during the "past year". That does not give a clear direction as to what proportion of the region has paucity in the viewership. Region wise data would compel to make the right decision by only focusing on those areas.

Fewer people attended the movies might not suggest that they are not aware of the movies. There are multiple channels through which viewers might watch a movie. The contents of the movie might have reached the viewers via Television, internet, or internet based channels as Netflix ot Amazon Prime, or DVDs. We cannot conclude that contents are not reaching base on the attendace of the viewership. This calls for holistic data of what are the other media through which the viewers watch the movies.

The reviews state that the specific Super screen produced movies got higher percentage of positive reviews. That does not necessarily mean that all the super screen produced movies have good quality content. And the contention that the making these reviews reach their prospective viewers would compel them to attend all their super screen produced movies is an assupmtion that the director has made.

Holistic data generation with the intention of looking where the super screen produced movies lack viewership will definitely give information on hoe much should be allocated for Advertising in the region that lack information. Just by making the positive reviews reach the viewers migh not guarantee increased viewership. Most of the movies might be viewed through other forms of advertising as well such as informal positive reviews by those who have watched it. Defintely, when these assumptions are properly addressed, one could decide how much of the budget should be allocated and for what region.