A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

It is a longstanding debate in different the countries around the world whether or not students should be exposed to the same national curriculum until going to college. In the past the curriculum has varied a lot from region to region and there was no standardisation of the knowledge produced. Nowadays, people understand the importance of standardised tests (such as the GRE) and thus standardised knowledge. In order to attain such a standardised knowledge among different fields of study, it is important that students are equally exposed to all these subjects until they enter college and thus that a national curriculum (and in the long term even an international curriculum) is provided.

Firstly, it is of utmost importance to give the same chanches to all people disregarding their background. When looking at data you see that the rich students tend to get smarter over summer holidays whilst the poor lose part of their knowledge. This is because the more wealthy parents send their children to specific summer schools from a younger age onwards. By installing a national curriculum these discrepanties will be solved during the year. However, if students are given a choice, it is very likely that the poorer children will end up in the "easier" classes than the richer kids and this not because their IQs are lower but rather because their parents cannot afford these summer camps. Therefore it is important to expose all children to one and the same curriculum and to measure the progress made over the year rather than over the summer holiday. That way, it is not the parents that decide the future of their children but it is the children themselves.

Many people might argue that, in a world where competition is very high, it is in your own advantage to develop your abilities from a younger age onwards. For example, not to be stereotypical but statistics show that, many chinese tend to focus to develop their mathematical skills and in the end their competences are a lot higher than the average American or European graduating from. Therefore they will end up studying at the most prestigious universities and will end up being more succesful in their field of study. Ultimitaly, these people will argue thus that it is necessary to adapt our knowledge to our future ambitions and career.

Although it might be true that society is in need of more specialists to tackle the difficult issues, this does not mean that society does not need generalists anymore. Nowadays, the percentage of people continuing to study after high school is more elevated than ever before and that should be the years were they transform from generalists into specialists. But all the fields are so connected to each other that it is dangerous to have a pure mathematical genius that has no clue how to write a proper essay, how to convey his/her ideas or what a chemical reaction can cause. By providing a basic of knowledge in all the fields these generalists that become specialists in college will be able to connect their knowledge across a larger spectrum and that way produce more accurate solutions to the difficult issues that society is currently facing.

In summary, society is changing a lot and the education system should follow this change. Students should get equal access to information and knowledge in order to get the chance to excell. Furthermore, it might be true that in the short term focussing on certain subjects from a younger age onwards may seem more succesful, in the long term the opposite is true. People need to have a general basic understanding of all subjects including language, history and science before they go on to make their own choice what to study. Therefore, in order to drive our society forward and to produce the most effective and appropriate knowledge possible, a national curriculum should be enforced.