Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position,

The past century humankind has rather ignored the nature and the effects their actions have on the environment. Today we are in a place where we cannot ignore these undesirable effects anymore: sealevels are rising, the oceans are full of micro-plastic and many endangered species. Human activities and ambition has destroyed both nature and its wildlife. It is time that we take action now and we stop destroying our own planet by preserving remaining wilderness areas in their natural state.

First, let's have a look at today's typical city - different neighbourhoods all linked by many roads. The car has a central place and the remaining green areas are being replaced by more neighbourhoods. What we tend to forget is that these green areas produce a healthier living environment as the photosynthesis of the plants and trees takes in the (undesired) CO2 and releases fresh oxygen. As the wilderness areas will be able to develop in their natural state, greenery will also develop and the effects of this photosynthesis will be remarkable.

Second, imagine a world with only humans and no free-living animals - this is the world that we are currently going to. A world were the only animals alive are owned by people in order to produce their food. More and more animal species are dying because we, humankind, are taking their place. By preserving these areas we ensure that there are always some areas left where animals can just be animals. This ethical reason is of utmost importance and far too often ignored.

Third, people could argue that these areas are dangerous as animals will have their fighting instincts. Therefore it is important that these areas are regulated very well and are clearly demarcated. These areas could be supervised by students of the nearby university that keep inventatory of the wildlife and its habits. Preserving wildlife and nature will push the knowledge we have forward.

In conclusion, it is of utmost importance to live in a world where there is space for both the animals as the humans. As the system of the planet is based on two species working together to produce oxygen, food and knowledge. Let us change the mentality of the past century where money, efficiency and robots took over the human dimension that needs nature to function.