Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agr

People go to school in order to learn important techniques, methods and knowledge needed to function in today’s society. Looking around, it’s true that more and more schools are encouraging their students to buy Ipads or computers as many of their teaching methods include these instruments. And surely, it is tempting to believe that these instruments take away a key focus of the education system namely learning by heart. Yet in this age of technology the concept of real learning has to be revised and updated up to the current needs of the society. Therefore, using technologies such as video, computer and the Internet redefine methods for instructing students and allow a larger scalable and adapted way of learning.

Firstly, the reliance on technology enables a more scalable learning as students can browse the Internet for knowledge on the topics that they have a passion for. This scalability is mainly present due to the use of videos, one person takes the time to make the video and then many people can view this from just behind their computer or tablet. In fact, an example of this is the EdX-platform where students can enroll in online courses for free from professors of all around the globe. This platform has courses on all the topics one can imagine: the history of Japan, the future of artificial intelligence or even the basics of Chinese can all be studied from wherever and whenever.

Some people might argue that by introducing technology in our learning process we forget the real learning such as the learning-by-heart or learning to write in a proper way. Nowadays, students use their calculators for even the most basic sums or have an automated spelling check when writing the documents.

Although it is true that technology enables another way of learning to the classic model we have used the past century, this is not a bad thing. Instead people learn new competences that are more necessary to function in today’s society. For example, when writing an essay the student needs to recollect and process a lot of information to then structure and compress this information and their ideas in a few pages. This teaches them to have a critical eye and analytical brain - two characteristics that are very useful and of utmost importance for future sucess. Technology increases the adaptibily of the curriculum for each and every student. Being able to learn on a computer is exteremly useful for people with dyslexia and eliminates their continuous frustrations when reading and learning. Thus, it can be said that technology in classrooms teach students the appropriate skills for the future as there they will also continuously work with technology.

Therefore, using technologies such as video, computer and the Internet redefine methods for instructing students and allow a larger scalable and adapted way of learning.