Although innovations such as video, computers, and the Internet seem to offer schools improved methods for instructing students, these technologies all too often distract from real learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There has been heated debates on whether it is conducive to apply modern technologies such as video, computer or the Internet in education. Some people claim that technologies inarguably improve the approaches of teaching and learning, while some people assert that the adoption is not beneficial since these technologies often distract students from real learning. As far as I am concerned, I think the advantages of this adoption outweighs the drawbacks overall.

People who are in favor of the prompt statement may argue that, if teachers give student access to computers or the Internet, they may end up playing video games or surfing the Internet instead of learning. However, this should be the problem of students themselves but not the technologies. Even in conventional educations, students who are susceptible to distractions may turns out playing with pencils and drawing on papers during the courses instead listening to teachers. Thus, we should not blame technologies for students' faults.

Primarily, technologies provides abundant learning resources that would make students' learning more productive. For example, in biology class, teachers no longer need to spend a lot of time and effort to describe what a organism looks like; students can easily find many colorful and detailed pictures or vivid videos online. In this case, students benefit from having more materials to help them better understand the course.

Moreover, new innovations offers different types of education approaches which would make learning more efficient. As every student has different learning pace and study style, it is very hard for teachers to adjust the speed of lecture and methods of teaching. Yet, this problem can be easily addressed if students do online learning such as watching lecture videos on their own. Since they can always pause the video to look for more information or skip some parts that they may already know. Therefore, technologies can accommodates education to be more suitable to each different individual.

In conclusion, applying technologies in education leads to a plenty of benefits for both teachers and students; it dramatically improves the quality of education. Although I concede that technologies sometimes are distractions for students, it should be students' duty to keep focus and take advantage of these resources.