"The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition."-Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

When looking at the evolution of the world, there has been no time where there was more competition than in the last century. Before the 20th Century farmers cooperated to produce food, maintain the fields and take care of the animals. Competition was present between different families or communities but not between the individuals. Yet in 20th century, with the industrial revolution and the possibility to ameliorate your life, people began to think for themselves. They challenged the cooperative institutions such as the churches and competition was now widely present between different individuals. This competition enabled the 20th century to be the century were society has evolved the most in terms of knowledge.

First, let’s take look at Japan, a country were cooperation primes before competition, where a good society is more important than a happy inhabitant. The car industry is one of their most important workplaces. Inhabitants work as robots together to achieve the best results possible, yet this is also the country with the highest suicidal rate. This is a prime example of why pure cooperation does not lead to a better outcome.

Second, let’s zoom in on Switzerland, a country where everyone acts in their own interest. This mindset drives the whole society forward as each individual is challenged to be the best version of themselves. Incentives such as money are the most effective means to create competition. In such a country, where competition primes over cooperation there is no place to be lazy. One cannot take advantage of the system by ignoring the duties but accepting the advantages.

Lastly, an important note to make to these prior examples is that this competitive mind-set is needed in industries, the government or other fields. Yet we cannot forget our human side that must help the less fortunate who are in real trouble. People who are ill or shelterless should not be left alone. The cooperative aspect can thus not be completely ruled out but should be present in difficult times.

In conclusion, one can argue that a cooperative mind-set on a big scale leads to lazy people who take advantage of the system yet a competitive mind-set challenges each individual to improve and thus improves the society as a whole. Thus the leaders of tomorrow should be trained to be competitive with themselves and with the others.