A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The recommendation calls that a nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college. However, too many issues immediately arise when considering such a policy. As such, although teaching students the same academic material will prepare them to be active, engaged citizens in a federally-governed nation (especially nation-states), there are too many issues involved with doing so.

Because a nation is comprised of several provinces or municipalities, each has its own economic differences that make a uniform curriculum unimpactful. There are differences even within those provinces. Westchester, one of the wealthiest counties in the United States, is divided into about 43 municipalities. While the township of Scarsdale is made up of mostly white or Asian individuals and has a high standard of living, New Rochelle is much more diverse, especially with regards to the residents' jobs. Scarsdale residents typically work in New York City; many New Rochelle residents work locally, likely in the service sector at restaurants or car dealerships. A curriculum in Scarsdale would focus on economics, finance, mathematics, science, and even engineering. On the other hand, New Rochelle students might find a much broader and diversified curriculum to be useful, as many of them will not continue to college. Teaching them the basics of restaurant management, for example, would be useful for later work as mid-level hospitality managers. These economic differences only indicate that students should take courses that will prepare them for their next chapter in life.

Onboarding teachers for a national curriculum would make a national curriculum too difficult to implement one. Because teachers would be expected to teach the same information, it seems reasonable that they would be expected to learn such through a similar process. However, how would teachers be prepared for a national curriculum? Will they be taught what to teach at their respective graduate program? That brings up the question of whether their graduate programs should be involved, but graduate schools are independent institutions and therefore not required to follow what a federal board of education would ask of them. Considering this difficulty, a national curriculum is too difficult to place upon the teachers.

It is too difficult to require the same national curriculum if there is no such definition of its so-called "same"-ness. What exactly would the "same" be? Do teachers teach the same information on the same day? Some classes move more quickly because they are honors-based courses; because others are remedial, they might move more slowly and not teach that information until a month afterward. Additionally, there would be significant differences in scheduling. Some schools follow different calendars: States in the mid-Atlantic provide days-off for Jewish religious holidays, like Yom Kippur and Rosh Hashanah; others do not give time off for such. It is unfathomable to require a national curriculum if it is not entirely clear--or if it will ever be clear--what the "same" national curriculum is.

Although the recommendation is too difficult to execute, it deserves some merit. All public schools in the United States follow the Common Core, and, although it is not a perfect system (by far), it has been an attempt to create a "same" national curriculum. Therefore, the federal government has already taken measures to implement the recommendation. Additionally, there are some basic core courses that a nation should require of its students. Each student should know basic math skills, including geometry and algebra. They should know the history of its country and the philosophy of law in order to prepare them to be knowledgeable citizens. Rather than make a same national curriculum, a nation should consider which courses are absolutely necessary and allow its individual provinces to decide how they will be taught and what additional courses should be included in the curriculum.