“A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The manager of the television station asserts that increasing the late-night news program's time spent on weather and local news will spike viewership, thereby restoring lost advertising revenues. The author's assumption is fundamentally lacking in sound logic and sufficient evidence to back his conclusion.

The author states that complaints from viewers pertained to weather and local news coverage, during the time that devotion to these topics decreased. While this suggests that these viewers complaints were related to the lack of coverage of these topics, this is not definitive. The author then jumps to the conclusion that viewership will increase as a result of restoring time to weather and local news topics. In order to support this statement, the news station would need to report statistics on viewership over many months, including the months where programming changed. If viewership significantly decreased during the time period of change, there may be strong evidence to support that restoring time on these topics will induce specific demographics to tune in more often. However, the assumption that reverting to the original lineup will increase viewership is wholly unsupported.

Additionally, while it seems reasonable that advertising agencies would cancel subscriptions when viewership decreases, the author is mistaken to assume that changing programming will prevent further loss in advertising revenue. First of all, the author does not establish direct causation between change in programming and advertising contract cancellations. While viewers complained about coverage, it is not clear that these complaints directly caused the agencies to abort their contracts, and these contracts resulted in loss of advertising revenue. Perhaps these agencies decided to devote their resources to other stations for unrelated reasons. For example, if they received better offers from other businesses, any increases in viewership might not necessarily keep these remaining agencies interested. In order to determine the effect of programming on advertising agencies, the manager would need to gather evidence on expenditures and advertising contracts from all competing stations and other changes in the news and advertising industries at the time. If the agencies cancelled their contracts because of decreases in lack of viewership, and reverting back to original programming increased viewership, the remaining agencies may be disincentivized to cancel any further commitments. Further, there could be factors influencing advertising revenues, other than the number of contracts, that the manager is not taking into account. The station may have commitments with fewer agencies, but may still receive increased revenues, depending on the business plan.

The business manager's reasoning that restoring the time devoted to weather and national news will increase viewership and thereby prevent advertising agencies from cancelling additional contracts with the news station is fundamentally flawed. The author cannot readily assume that augmenting time spent on weather and local news will increase viewership. This unsupported statement leads to the unsupported conclusion that the former programming will prevent further loss of advertising revenues. The causes of the changes in trends in advertising revenues requires detailed evidence and further evaluation.