A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.”

Across education systems in the world, there are some nations with different curriculum set by schools based on whether they are private or public. Other nations impose a standard curriculum that most students are subject to. As education prior to college usually culminates in tests for college entrance, and that it is used for a tool to nurture citizens, it is beneficial to require a consistent curriculum among schools to a large extent, while catering for the innate differences and abilities of its students.

Having the same curriculum serves as a great equalizer across schools and students. Even if the students belong to different schools, by having studied the same topics they should be equally prepared for entrance exams such as the GCE A levels which are used for university entrance criteria. This equal benchmark provides a fair starting platform for different students, even though they may have entered schools based on different socio-economic background. With the same curriculum, we can ensure there is no unfair disadvantage as certain schools have been more focused on training students towards university entrance exams while others may have been focused on project work and exploration or lesson plans according to their teachers, which do not prepare them for standardised exams.

Another benefit of ensuring a consistent curriculum is that young students have a shared base on knowledge with which can foster a shared identity. For instance, in having the same topics and stories shared in social science subjects and history, two different students meeting in college will be able to converse about the topics they have both learnt with the same background information. This can be about the history and development of their country or about the international relations among the countries around them. When mutual understanding is fostered, it is easier to share an identity as citizens of a nation. Conversely, if curriculum is different, it may be more difficult for different students to find shared topics and they may hold different views about their identity as citizens of that country. Thus, for more close knit bonds between their citizens, the nation should adopt a standard curriculum.

However, for all its benefits, allowing curriculum to be customised across schools and classes may also be beneficial. Different ability of students can be better served by allowing teachers leeway to prepare lesson plans and topics that they deem fit for their students. For example, in Singapore, technical study subjects such as woodwork, and even Accounts Management tend to be available to students who fair lower in standardise streaming tests, while those with better scores are encouraged to adopt additional sciences and mathematics subjects. This system is to serve the needs of the workforce where some students will enter STEM fields while others can occupy jobs served by other technical skills. Moreover, having flexibility also allows education to be catered to students' innate talents such as in arts or sports, or even science. Schools focused on students with artistic capabilities will only succeed if given the opportunity to devise a curriculum suited to nurture the potential of its charges.

While it is useful to provide subjects according to the talents of students, there should still be an attempt to standardise the contents on subjects such as Science and History across schools for the benefits mentioned prior. With such provisions, the nation can ensure its students potential is met, while providing an equal platform for further studies regardless of economic background, and shared knowledge.