People who make decisions based on emotion and justify those decisions with logic afterwards are poor decision makers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Making decisions using emotions first and seeking to justify them after the fact can be challenging and ineffective, leading to poor decision making. However, there are areas such as personal life and relationships where emotions can help us make decisions when we do not have enough logical or critical ability honed to do so. Emotions may a representation of real issues and provide suggestions on how to best act. But how well can these emotions represent genuine issues and reflect real problems depends on the situation which will be elaborated further with examples in this essay.

Often in relationship which are romantic or in friendships, one may be feeling anger, neglect or heartbreak. These may be emotional grounds for a break up. Later one be able to justify the break up they triggered as a lack of compatibility and inability to address differences, or a mismatch between likes and dislikes. In this case it is possible that due to one's lack of experience they do not have a honed ability to handle relationships logically, and rely on their emotions for decisions. This process may valid at least in allowing a person to process their decisions which were emotional in a logical way. It is a reasonable way to make decisions. It can even be useful if someone is in an abusive relationship that they find otherwise outwardly acceptable, that they lean into their emotions and make a decision to end things even if it may cause financial harm or lead to lack of stability.

A second situation may arise while making emotionally driven decisions where one may face the inability to apply logic afterwards as emotions and logic are at odds. For example the love and affection among a couple may lead to them having children which they attempt to justify logically afterwards as a natural process for continuing their bloodlines or as a retirement policy, only to realise their financial situation is not stable enough to raise children. This could certainly be a case of poor decision making.

Is it alright to be emotional in making decisions, as long as you justify it later? E.g. a manager with a poorly performing employee may face frustration and disappointment, and as such let go of them. Later they may try to use the weak performance as a logical reason. However, having started with a logical position and analysing the issue would have given them more options or be able to search for reasons for poor performance and find solutions. Such as a bad fit for the skillsets. This can be remedied by rotating them to something suitable. Having an emotionally unconfined response might cloud judgment and the ability to consider options for a problem. In such situations it natural to be emotional but all the more important to apply logic or get external help e.g. from HR or use a process where possible. As emotionally led decisions can be wrong and cause grevious harm. In this situation, an emotionally charged but effective decision maker could channel their feelings into recognizing a problem and then switching to logical and critical thinking for remedying it.