A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Whether a nation should follow a nationwide curriculum, has intrigued educationalists, politicians and general multitude for decades. Education being the fundamental instrument, allows the nations to produce human resources who will be driving the future. As a country, we depend on people with wide range of skills such as politicians, economist, traders, engineers, doctors and artists etc. therefore, having a fixed national curriculum will force students to learn those subjects which will not be relevant to them in the future. Thus, as a country we should have the curriculum designed around the career-path of students, even before they enter college.

Having a well-tailored curriculum considering the career of student group allows them to participate actively. The most blatant example, in this case, is class 9th and 10th curriculum of Bihar state schools a province in India before 2010. All the students interested in engineering field(including me) opted for advanced math instead of Biology as an additional subject because the understanding of biology will not help us in class 11th/12th but the understanding of advanced math would and naturally the early understanding of such advanced concepts made our life much easier in class 11th/12th and afterwards in engineering college. However recently, the government had scrapped this additional subject, and all students are required to attend biology. My sister's batch in which most of them are interested in engineering fields do not even attend the biology classes since they have no inclination to pursue career in biology.

A region specific curriculum allows schools to include native language subjects which are important for maintaining the cultural belonging of regional society. This may not appear as a very important concern initially but if we look closely, these languages allows us to share our emotions, understanding of complex life which no other language can depict the exact way. The native language communication bounds us together and makes us feel belonging to our community.

Economically backward students may be at disadvantage if a country implements the same national curriculum. We all know that college admissions do not happen directly, and most of the admissions happen through entrance examination. Suppose, a kid from rich family Rakesh and another kid from a poor family Ramesh studied the same curriculum and after class 12th, both are preparing for medical entrance. Rakesh has plenty of coaching institute(may be best in the country) at his disposal and he is taking all possible help however Ramesh cannot afford the cost of these coaching institute hence have to prepare on his own. We certainly know their results and rankings but consider another key situation, what if Ramesh went through a different curriculum specially designed for engineering, in that case he will have a longer period of time to prepare himself for the test as well as a better chance of securing a seat.

One may however, question the integrity of this novel stand and argue that since most countries already have the national entrance exams for colleges then why shouldn't the countries have a common curriculum before college. One may even think that a nationwide curriculum provides a fair platform for students to compete.However, I disagree with the above stand that we have common examination for colleges, in fact countries have a very specific college entry examinations for example in India we have joint entrance examination(IIT-JEE) for engineering, National medical examination(NEET), Common law entrance examination(CLAT) etc. hence for students planning a career in any of these fields if studied a common curriculum will have to study unnecessary additional subjects which is not going to be useful for them in the future.

Conclusively, A curriculum focused on a particular career path for students will yield a better result for a country as well as allows students the freedom to choose their career-path in their early stage including maintaining the cultural heritage of the regional society.