A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Though studying the same coursework before college may put many students on an equal playing field as that of their other peers, it is inadvisable to have them study the same coursework given that they know what lines of work they would like to pursue in the future. A number of factors play a role into why students should be allowed to have a choice as to what they would like to study prior to entering university.

For one thing, many students may already have a career in mind prior to entering college. To force a student to study a topic that has no bearing on their career desires would be to limit them from opportunities to choose classes that could benefit them and give them bonus knowledge that could aid them in their future jobs. For example, if a student wishes to enter the medical profession, a class such as art would not benefit them for their future goals as much as a course on emergency aid. As such it is important for students to be able to pick and choose which classes would be of most benefit to them so that they can maximize their learning and thus become more equipped to provide better work down the line when they become professionals in the career of their choice.

Furthermore, allowing students to choose their pre college coursework would also act as a financial benefit for these students. If allowed to choose their coursework in high school, many students could potentially get Advanced Placement Credits and not have to pay extra money in college to take them if they were able to do so in high school. Say there is a high school student who has the desire to study music. Rather than taking a class on government, he or she can take an AP music class and thus fulfill a college requirement. If schools dictate graduation coursework then the student could not take the classes they would want to. As a result, they would have to spend more money to take these desired classes in college when they could have saved that money given that they had the opportunity to take those classes in high school.

For those who do not know what careers they would like to embark upon, having a similar line of coursework for high school students to take could prove beneficial in allowing these students to explore different areas of interest. This could spark much hope and passion for their futures assuming that they discover something that they truly enjoy as a result of more diverse coursework. However, for those high school students who do know their desired futures, it would be unfair to subject them to both limitations of career related learning as well as financial burdens that would result from forcing them to take the same classes as their peers.