"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director for the Super Screen Movie Production Company does not have the best idea when it comes to his plan on how to increase attendance of his company's movies. To convince me otherwise, there are several questions that require answers in order to make his claim logical.

The annual report from the company's marketing team has shown that fewer people had attended movie showings this year as compared to previous years. Therefore, since the rate of attendance has been higher in the past, people have been aware that the company makes good quality movies. Prior attendance trumps the idea that people were unaware of the company's predisposition to making good quality films. As a result, I do not believe that allocating more money to public marketing would be the best use of money since people are already aware of their successes from the past. The director would have to give his reasons as to why public service announcements for his film would prove beneficial given that he did not have to do so in the past to get success. However, if he is not able to provide a solid reasoning as for this discrepency, I stand by my claim that this method of money allocation will not be successful.

The director would also have to give account for the money he wishes to spend on advertising and how this would affect the quality of the film. Movies take millions of dollars to produce and the reallocating of money towards public advertising would cause the director to not have as many funds to create quality effects for the movie. If he allocates money to public awareness, I presume that the quality of the films could be downgraded. This in turn could allow movie ratings to go down, even if attendance were to rise. The film could truly be successful but only if financial shifts are not so drastic. If they are not very drastic, it is possible that this tool could prove beneficial for the company at the end of the day.

Ultimately, the comments made by the marketing director do not make much sense. The plans for rejuvenation of attendance in the theatre should be reevaluated once again in order to ensure the company has maximum success.