The following is a memorandum from the business manager of WLSS television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned with the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, several local businesses that used to run advertisements during our late-night news program have just cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand the coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

If something works, why should it be changed? Unfortunately, the channel in question decided to change methods that worked well and it backfired. It is logical to assume that going back to original methods would bring back previous viewership results that were lost from viewer disappointment in programming and loss of local business advertisement. However, reverting back to former kinds of programming does not guarantee that the channels viewership will go back to its original numbers.

It is very possible that going back to what they were doing before would not have any effect as far as advertisements are concerned. Businesses still need to sell products and television advertising is one way to do so. As such, it is very likely that these businesses made contracts with other channels following their termination of contract with the channel in question. As a result, it would be unlikely to assume that the channel would be able to negotiate once again with these companies given that they probably would have signed another contract with another channel already at this point in time.

Despite advertising playing a role in viewership, it is also unlikely that the channel would get its original viewers back if it went back to having more frequent weather reports. If the weather was such an important piece of information for people to keep aware of, the changes that led to not having it accessible on the channel in question would have led viewers to another channel that still continued to show it. As such, though possible, one cannot conclude that the reinstating of weather reporting on a more frequent basis would lure viewers back to the original channel and away from their new channels. Given that this new viewership probably led to increases in financial profit, the newer channels would work tirelessly to maintain those new viewers in order to keep prospering.

In essence, though it is technically possible that a bad decision could be reverted by going back to old methods, it is impossible to fully conclude this. Perhaps this channel would make note of their mistakes so that once they are able to build their viewership numbers once again, they will not make the same mistake once again.