A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

A common curriculum till college allows institutions of higher studies to be able to make their own curriculum much more efficient as everyone coming to that particular college will have the same knowledge base.This also allows the colleges to monitor what kind of topics or areas are covered during the lower stages of the students education, allowing them decide what to include or not to include in their very own curriculum.

The major problem with not having a common syllabus is that each student has a different knowledge base. This causes for certain students to be knowledgeable in certain areas and lack any foundation in other topics or areas. For example, in technical education such as engineering, the students coming from different educational backgrounds will not have the same knowledge base on topics such as math, physics,etc. Some may have better knowledge in physics but lack the necessary skills in math or vice versa. Also streams such as engineering have subjects or topics which is interdependent,i.e.,knowledge or skills in certain subjects will be required to learn or understand other subjects,hence everything is interwoven together.Thus students having different knowledge bases will make the teaching by the higher education institutions more difficult, as they have to spend a considerable amount of time and energy to bring each and every student on to the same level. This hinders the pace at which a student learns and hence increases the time required for a person to gain a complete higher education.

The curriculum followed can be broadly differentiated into different streams or areas such as science,arts,commerce,etc. But each area of expertise should have only one set of curriculum, and not more than that. This allows the students to take whatever stream their are interested in but each student of that particular stream will have the same foundation that enbles for an easier higher education for the students as well as the institutes.

Thus having a common curriculum in the nation allows for easier and faster higher education for the students and also enables for a better and easier teaching environment.