A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

As per the given situation a pet food company had to withdraw 4 million pounds of pet food because the pets that consumed these foods had experienced certain symptoms such as vomiting,lethargy and other signs of illness. But at the same time a preliminary internal investigation by the company reports that the chemicals found in the food were chemicals approved to be used in the pet food. So how can the exact reason to the problem be found?

The best method is to employ a third party agency the specializes in these sort of investigations and conduct a thorough survey and examination.This agency should conduct a survey with all the customers that buy this particular brand of pet food and find out if the symptoms were common to all the pets that consumed the pet food or only a small percentage of them. Also they should find out if their pets regularly consumed this particular brand of food or if it is their first time. Also another chemical test must be done by a certified third party laboratory to find out if permissible chemicals were used or not.

Depending on the answers received for the above set of questions a logical reason should be found. If the percentage of pets falling sick is large and scattered all around the place then it is definitely some sort of mistake at the company's end,but if it is a smaller percentage and it only for pets that is trying it out for the first time then issue could be with the fact that the pets are not used this type of food and it merely a incompatibility issue.Even if this issue is only at a certain part of the place then it is the problem with only that area of supplied pet food.It is also possible that there might have been a drastic weather change in that area affecting the health of the pets. Again these assumptions has to be backed up by the lab test results.

So in conclusion a proper investigation has to be done to find out the reason for this particular problem and it is better to do it with the help of a third party investigative agency so there no bias towards either side.So the reason can be the company's lack of quality control or some other reason such as a widespread disease or drastic weather changes,hence a proper investigation should be conducted.