Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs

Due to the reduced time alloted to the weather and local news it can be seen from the memorandum that there is a significant decrease in the overall revenue generated.This decrease can be attributed to mainly two reasons.

The first reason is that the total viewership has reduced as there is more significance given to the national news rather than the weather and the local news. This means that a substantial amount of viewers are from the local area, and also inferring from the complaints received a good portion of the viewers are interested in knowing about the weather as well. Thus from this it can be reasoned that the viewers are either equally interested in the weather, local and the national news or more interested in the weather and local news.This maybe be the reason for the decreased amount of viewership.

The second reason is that there is a reduction of the the number of advertisement contracts the local businesses have with the tv station.This is because that the market area of these businesses is confined to the local area and the potential customers are the local people.So such businesses will be more interested in advertising their products on the local network rather than the national network.But since the station has reduced the total time allotted for local news the,amount of time and the viewership of these advertisements has also reduced. This is the main reason why the number of contracts with local businesses have reduced.

So to summarise the reduction in the alloted time for the local news has caused the local viewership to go down as well as the local businesses advertisements contracts to reduce as well. The two explained reasons above which is inferred from the memorandum strengthens the argument significantly.