A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

It would be favorable for any nation if it can ensure its every citizen play a role as a competent society member. For this purpose, some people, including the speaker of the given statement, argue that a nation should provide a uniform curriculum for all of its students so that they can be competent citizens to a similar extent. However, besides the extremity of the given argument, I still tend to disagree with the idea of national curriculum due to the differences among individuals and preferences for diversity.

Admittedly, few would disagree that a standardized curriculum provided by a government might be beneficial in some aspects. With a premise that a national curriculum is well-balanced and well-wrought by education specialists, it would be advantageous not only for individuals but also for the whole country. All students would be equipped with an essential and fundamental body of knowledge and, in a long term, they would be able to contribute to the country with their skills and expertise, which was developed upon their basic knowledge provided by the national curriculum.

However, that is only an ideal scenario, if not just daydreaming. Since students are all different from one another, we cannot expect every student develop the same level of knowledge and skills from a nation-provided uniform curriculum. For example, students take and process information in a distinctive ways. Some are better at learning through an audio method, whereas others prefer visual method. Moreover, it has been shown in a number of studies that students better perform when they work on a task interests them. In other words, for some students who are not interested in Math, sitting in an Algebra class would be just wasting their time. Thus, requiring the exactly same curriculum for distinctive students may turn out to be inefficient.

Moreover, even if somehow we could successfully instill every single student the uniform curriculum to the same level, the result may not be so favorable for the whole society. In the modern world, in which diversity and heterogeneousness are highly valued, a nation, whose citizens are educated through a rigid and standardized curriculum, would not be successful. Consider the mobile application market, for example. The most selling products are initiated by creative and different way of thinking, if not peculiar, and this does not seem to be resulted from a forced, standardized education, which might have benefited industrial market in the previous century. This shows that requiring all students of studying a same curriculum contrived by a few people may not only be as effective as some may argue, but even be detrimental for the society.

To sum, despite some advantages of a national curriculum, it turns out to fail to meet different needs of individual students as well as to be somewhat outdated concept of education. Therefore, I strongly argue that a nation should not force its students to follow its uniform curriculum. Instead, it is necessary that they consider different way of learning and interests of each student as well as the purpose of education in the modern world, in which heterogeneity is highly valued.