A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position

What does a nation teach to all its students till college? This is a task which is very convoluted. Choosing a national curriculum seems like a lucrative approach, but it comes with its own pitfalls. On the other hand, letting institutions decide their own curriculums may seem disastrous at first, but serves its function of providing a flexible system for all.

One of the most difficult part of choosing a national curriculum would be inclusion of everyone in the nation, which would also include differently abled people and slow learners. In doing so the curriculum would be either be very general or not cater to some people. This would hamper the ability of people wanting to learn. Taking a flexible option would benefit greatly to people who learn slower and need more attention.People also choose to not study in institutions and homeschool. These students learn according to their interests and will be hampered by the unfiorm curriculum.

A unified national curriculum would help in bringing awareness to all topics the curriculum deems important. This would assure that people in the nation are aware of atleast the minimal study as decided by the nation. This requires addressing the problems of inclusion of all people of all walks of life and also having a indepth understanding of wants of the people.

The curriculum is defined by schools and colleges to provide a holistic growth of the individual based on the institutions strengths and merits. Keeping one national would help if all institutions would be able to provide the same paedogogy required to each individual, which is not an easy task. Hence, a national curriculum, while, looks attractive may not be appropriate for everyone in the nation.