The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with out station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have cancelled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

The memorandum in the passage talks about restoring the time to weather and local news as it brought lesser viewers and loss of advertisement revenue. To fully qualify this as a good response, the above losses need to be analysed more and there is a need to consider some more factors.

Firstly, Nowhere in the passage is metioned that the complaints that were received were due to the reduction of the time for weather and local news. The complaints could have been about the content of the coverage. If it is found that the coverage was focusing on minor insignificant details which the viewers weren't interested in, it would weaken the claim that the restoration is necessary.

Secondly, in the passage the there is a loss of advertising revenue ascribed to this reduction in time of coverage. The local buisnesses could have canceled due to the fact that the coverage is misrepresenting the information about local news. If true, it would say that the buisnesses canceled their advertising due to the misrepresentation of information and this would also help make a case against the conclusion.The loss in revenue due to canceling could also be due to a financial crisis in the local buisnesses and hence would weaken the arguement as it would give an alternate cause for the cancelation.

Thirdly, In the passage there is no mention of the fact that there was a reduction in the number of viewers and also that there would be an increase if the restoration was implemented. And maybe everyone who wanted to view it was already doing so. To strengthen this point in the passage the author should have added cases that show that more people were viewing the channel when there was lesser devotion on the national news.

These are some major factors that need addressing before we can readily accept the conclusion. The author could have added that the complaints that were received demanded more coverage and/or thorough coverage of weather and local news to bolster the arguement. If the loss of revenue was explained and attributed to the lesser time of the local news would have also helped the conclusion.