A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Schooling stage preceds college life of a student. Schooling provides basic fundamental setup and ramping up of an individual using which a student can wok on experting himself/herself as per thier interest by entering into the repective colleges. I would agree to the agument all students should study same national curriculum until college starts.

One basic role schooling plays, as mentioned in first paragraph as well, is to develop the individual from the embryonic stage of his life to a person with sufficient intellect to decide what level/field or expertise he would like to have in his life. We can't expect a child entering play school to decide what career he is fascinated about or atleast can't rely on their judgement of that stage or we cannot even expect a primary school student to list out his capabilities or career goals. Making a decision requires a basic understanding of almost all fields existing after schooling using that only it would be justified to ask an individual what fascinates him/her for further learning.

Giving same curriculum will provide equal opportunities for all the students nationwide to decide on further goals.

Having same curriculum ensures proper monitoring of the curriculum at national level by the experts having curriculum understanding and proficient in ensuring the adequacy of the curriculum for the individuals. Having different curriculums are prone to quality degradation and also difficult to monitor as compared to single national level curriculum provided to all. Students from less developed regions can feel envy of the students in well developed regions employing highly graded experts to decide on curriculum.

Also we having various students opting for best colleges and we need to decide by competing them it makes sense to give them equal opportunities and also it becomes easy to test them.