The following is a letter from the parent of a private school student to the principal of that school:

Last year, Kensington Academy turned over management of its cafeteria to a private vendor, Swift Nutrition. This company serves low-fat, low-calorie meals that students do not find enjoyable – my son and several of his friends came home yesterday complaining about the lunch options. While the intent of hiring Swift may have been to cause students to eat healthier foods, the plan is just going to cause students to bring their own, less healthy lunches instead of eating cafeteria food. If Swift is not replaced with another vendor, there will be serious health consequences for Kensington students.

Given argument by a parent of a child studying in private school appears have weak reasoning, lack of clarity on the objective and also absurd conclusion.

Firstly, the parent is building his hypothesis on bunch of children maybe 3 or 4 on deciding the lunch option to be served to the whole school. Also there is no mention of what complains where they actually making, are they unhappy with the quality or quantity or variety of new food being served by newly appointed private vendor in cafeteria. These details needs to be looked into before start questioning on the cafeteria foods and services. For instance it can happen guys appointed for serving are not that friendly or options children have in the menu are very limited or maybe children are just not comfortable with the change happened as they were used to the precious cafeteria services.

Apart from the services of cafeteria, the point made by the parent on the healthiness of diet is very unclear. He doesn't seem clear on the front whether he wants his child have healthy food or not. As he hasn't put any issue regarding the healthiness of the diet being served. Instead he is accepting of the fact the new cafeteria is providing healthy food and that only he is using to make argument regarding new cafeteria healthy diet is making students to bring unhealthy lunches. There is no clarity what exactly he wants to change in cafeteria services. Since he is advising the change of the vendor he needs to provide some clarity on what type of menu he is contemplating will attract their children to stick to cafeteria food along with no compromise on the health portion of the food being served. Because the conclusion of his argument is about health consequences for kensington students, so how exactly he is suggesting school management to replace the cafeteria proving healthy services.

Also as is mentioned above, he has made this argument of the comments of few children, there should be some more feedback details from the other parents regarding the same issue as children's alone cannot decide or are incapable to alone decide what should their lunch conatain.