A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

America is the most diverse country in the world. We come from various backgrounds, beliefs, and nations. If you ask any American about the different regions within the US, they will gladly tell you that they differ very greatly. For, the traditional "southern way of life" is very different from the life someone would experience while growing up in the Midwest or Northeast. Consequently, this has naturally caused a divide in the educational experiences and skill level of the students from these regions. For example, school districts in Mississippi and Alabama are almost the lowest in the nation. However, applying a national curriculum will help assure that all students in the United States are at the same education level and will help college recruiters in selecting students for their universities.

Firstly, applying a common curriculum will ensure that a student in rural Alabama and student in New York will learn the same basic knowledge. In response to this common curriculum, the education skill level of these students in these lower-rated education systems will rise. By making sure every student in the U.S. are on the at least the same level, we are ensuring that all our students are better prepared in the future regardless of which school district that they happen to live in.

Secondly, a common curriculum will help pre-college students and recruiters around the nation. College admission offices know that certain school districts' quality of education is lower than others. Therefore, they use standardized test like the ACT or SAT to judge everyone on an equal playing field. However, these tests do not accurately summarize the entire academic career of these students. GPA is the best summary of the work ethic of a student. With everyone on the same curriculum, GPA would give a better insight of student to the admission offices of these universities. Universities could give GPA's a bigger importance than a standardized test. This will ensure students that their GPA would have a bigger impact on their admission test instead of a standardized test.

In conclusion, common curriculum will help both students and universities around the nation. No longer will a parent have to worry about the quality of education of the student because every school would be using the same curriculum. Furthermore, students applying to college can rely on their GPA to have a greater impact on their college admission decisions. In addition, universities can rely on student's GPA instead of a standardized test to accurately represent the caliber of student they want to admit.